Cinema&Fashion – Special: on the tracks of style in Halloween movies.

Halloween movies: stylish people.

Despite the general wetness, the end of Summer, the days that get shorter, I always liked the changes that September/October bring to the city. I like the feeling, the colours, the different smell of the air. London in particular is perfect in Autumn: rainy, but not too much (well, maybe today it is a little too rainy), cool but not freezing, with that bit of fog in the early mornings, particularly fascinating when it is a sunny morning. The Borough Market, during weekends, is full of seasonal fruits and vegetables that have amazing colours. Pumpkins in particular.

And speaking about pumpkins: even for Halloween time London is perfect!

Now…when annual feasts, like Christmas or Halloween, are approaching I start my personal search for the “perfect festivity mood”. I love that folkloristic side that these events bring with them, London itself, as I said, already helps me to “feel the feeling”, especially for Halloween. Of course, I also love to complete my full immersion into the perfect mood by watching movies in theme with the upcoming event. And, as you know, I can not stop myself from catching a glimpse of style even in this kind of movies.

So, since Halloween is approaching and my full immersion into Halloween movies is begun, I thought it would have been fun to pick some the most particular in their personality and style, if not totally stylish, characters from these movies and create a sort of top list, to give them the right relevance and maybe  take some inspiration 🙂

Gary Oldman as Count Dracula in Bram Stoker’s Dracula

Dracula

DraculaBeyond the fact that I love Gary Oldman, this movie not only made me love him even more but the style they gave him as Count Dracula made me almost clap at the screen the first time I saw this movie. The sunglasses are the cherry on top the cake. This is love.

Basically the entire cast of Dark Shadows

Dark Shadows

Dark ShadowsEvery Tim Burton’s movie gives me joy because of the choice of the costumes…well actually this is the plus that makes me love his movies so much. But I personally think that with Dark Shadows the style has reached a higher level. I loved every single character’s outfit, in particular…

Johnny Depp as Barnabas Collins

Dark Shadows

Dark Shadows

Bella Heathcote as Victoria Winters

Dark Shadows

Dark Shadows

Michelle Pfeiffer as Elizabeth Collins Stoddard

Dark Shadows

Dark Shadows

Helena Bonham Carter as Dr. Julia Hoffman

Dark Shadows

Winona Ryder as Lydia Deetz in Beetlejuice

Beetlejuice

BeetlejuiceI have already picked her and this movie for the last year Cinema&Fashion‘s Halloween edition, and for very good reasons: Winona’s style in that movie is amazing! Another Tim Burton’s brilliant movie, another style to keep in mind.

These two guys in Hocus Pocus

hocus pocus

hocus pocusAlright, alright…we have got Sarah Jessica Parker, and witches’ theme, and zombies…it is the kind of movie that kids love, but what can I say? I love it too! And what about the 90’s style of these two “bullies/loosers”? Come on! I know that you love Ice and Jay’s outfits! Anyhow, they are in my list and I am not going to change my mind.

Cher, Susan Sarandon and Michelle Pfeiffer as Alexandra, Jane and Sukie in The Witches of Eastwick

the witches of eastwickthe witches of eastwick

the witches of eastwick

the witches of eastwickThis is the kind of 80’s “evil theme” movie with a lot of weird stuff, such as fake blood, fake monsters, crazies, Jack Nicholson’s face, big hair and a bit of “looney sex”. Whenever I watch this movie I never know if it supposed to be scary or just fun in some kind of a twisted way. What I am sure of is that the three witches, the blonde, the ginger and the brunette, have all a fantastic and distinctive style. That is why this movie deserves to be in this list.

Christina Ricci as Katrina Van Tassel in Sleepy Hollow

sleepy hollow

sleepy hollow

sleepy hollowI know, it may be not fair to put in here another Tim Burton’s movie, but as I said his movies, over the fact that are all based on a “Halloween theme”, have got style and the characters can not not be mentioned. Here Christina Ricci is amazing, for example: she looks gorgeous in this total blonde look, and she gives her looks some sort of grunge/rock style that needs to be considered!

Johnny Depp as Glen Lantz in Nightmare on Elm Street

nightmareI simply want to say that this look rocks! Look at the t-shirt! Always gorgeous Johnny Depp, quite unusual style for him, but hey! It was 1984!

Please, feel free to send us your own picks of “stylish Halloween movies”. You can style them as we usually do for our Cinema&Fashion pieces, and send them to anna@goosebumpsmag.com. If they give us goosebumps we’d love to publish them!

By Anna D.

Leave a comment