Let’s spend a (worthy) word about – the “Cinema&Fashion” race

Scissors Closests and Streets is a blog about an alternative way to see and live Fashion. Part of Goosebumps Mag, SCS is a sort of a wishlist of things we love, and we think are special. It is the kind of lifestyle we want to have and we can actually be part of. It is affordable fashion, it is stylish bands with their catchy music, it is known and less known movies and the style we find in them, it is young and fresh designers/brands, it is love for (not so expensive) shoes. Being part of society, if not society itself, Fashion has different sides. We found our favourite and personal one, through which we look at the World. We will publish some specific pieces here, but for a more in-depth experience into our side of Fashion head to scissorsclosetsandstreets.wordpress.com.

Good stuff.

I currently find myself snooping into every single magazine, blog, website with an uncontrollable and overwhelming willingness of knowing and discovering every upcoming movie for the whole 2014. I am living moments of panic caused by “information overload” as, above all 2014 movies, I try to get informations about this an that actor/actress/director, that ends up with myself taking note and watching trailer after trailer of known and less known, apparently really stylish, movies already available, that I really want to watch and then go back to the starting point. If you get the point of what I am saying (almost yelling, in my head) you should now feel a bit dizzy. Which is normal, I guess.

To get rid of some of the thousands of informations that I have stored somewhere in between my laptop and my brain, I made a list of few upcoming movies that could be perfect for future lovely pieces of SCS, hopefully some will be part my favourite category Cinema&Fashion.

Be aware: trailers, critics and images can be tricky. Only when it comes to actually watch the movie we can judge if it is good or not good. It is a matter of personal point of view. For the moment let’s enjoy the pleasant taste of expectation.

THE GRAND BUDAPEST HOTEL – Wes Anderson – March 7

the grand budapest hotel

the grand budapest hotel

the grand budapest hotel

the grand budapest hotel

Just look at the cast: don’t you feel happy? I do. Prada’s favourite director is back and it looks like he has just created another lovely movie! I am already hysterically tiptoeing wile waiting for the release, the 7th of March.

HER – Spike Jonze – February 14

her

her

her

her

The Groucho Marx look (the cute version of it) works its magic on Joaquin Phoenix, who plays the part a lonely, super sweet and shy writer who develops a relationship with a talking operating system with artificial intelligence. From what I saw of this movie, I am already sure about three things: 1. I really would like to hug Joaquin Phoenix 2. I really would like to have Scarlet Johansson’s voice 3. the picture is going to be amazing. In cinemas on February 14 (obviously 🙂 ).

LA BELLE ET LA BETE – Christophe Gans – February 12

la belle et la bete

la belle et la bete

la belle et la bete

la belle et la bete

Prada Candy’s face, actress and model Léa Seydoux, is Belle, Vincent Cassel, one of my favourite actor/fascinating man ever, is the Beast. Expected great special effects for one of the tales that made me suffer, cheer and dream the most throughout all my childhood. Let’s see it.

INSIDE LLEWYN DAVIES – Joel and Ethan Coen – January 16

inside llewyn davies

inside llewyn davies

inside llewyn davies

inside llewyn davies

The ugly truth: I am not a fan of Coen brothers. Not that I have never tried to watch and like their movies. It is just…probably I am not as acute as they expect their fans to be, or simply because my taste in movies does not matches with theirs. It is still a fact that I always end up looking blank or unhappy after watching one of their creations. Despite me being a bit suspicious towards Coen’s movies, I find myself quite attracted by this last one. I might give another chance to Joel and Ethan.

YVES LAINT LAURENT – Jalil Lespert – France, early 2014

YSL

YSL

YSL

Well…the main title already speaks for itself. This IS cinema and fashion! Enough for me to put it into my list and wait impatiently for its release.

GOD HELP THE GIRL – Stuart Murdoch – early 2014

god help the girl

god help the girl

Stuart Murdoch, lead singer of Belle & Sebastian, as director of a musical movie set in Glasgow, who released in 2009 the homonymous album and managed to get the movie in the list of films that will be screened at this year’s Sundance Festival UK? Ok, this one has my total attention!

MALEFICIENT – Robert Stromberg – May 30

Maleficient

Maleficient

Maleficient

Another fantasy movie? Yes. I am actually quite curious to look at the whole “Sleeping Beauty” story from the evil (and super green!) eyes of Maleficient. Besides, I really like Elle Fanning. So, let’s have another good dose of special effects and enjoy this movie!

By Anna D.

Leave a Reply

